the starting point of the dance piece is the theme of shadows, loosely inspired by adelbert chamisso’s art fairy tale »the wonderful history of peter schlemihl«, which was written in 1813 and tells the story of a man who sells his shadow. »clair obscur« is an attempt to approach the complexity and multi-layeredness of shadows and their paradox, because shadows have many faces.
the HALLE is transformed into a stage divided into two parts. the two parts face each other like two sides of the same coin, like light and shadow, like day and night – one cannot exist without the other and this is how this work is composed: the two perspectives are inseparable and yet can be perceived separately…

»see how this body casts its shadow and how dreams are born from it.« henri bosco
who hasn’t tried to catch their shadow while walking back then? who has not wondered about this strange apparition that constantly accompanies us, but also always slips away? from plato’s »allegory of the cave« to carl gustav jung’s »analytical psychology« to the dream world of every human being, the shadow veils and reveals the secrets of the world.

where does this shadow come from? what does the shadow tell us? and where does it escape to when we no longer see it? what is this shadow that wanders in search of its body, and what is a body without a shadow?
the crazy attempt to catch the shadow is always doomed to failure.

»in these shadow phases i am unable to think, to feel, to love.« fernando pessoa

but there are also shadows that cover our existence. they unfold, act and live-in silence. shadows can have many names… they appear around the corner, in the unexpected and suddenly take possession of us. shadow sides that dwell within us and that we carry with us. shadows that arise, full of doubts, full of illusions. they reach out to the visible world through our senses and take possession in impermanence.

premiere 2021 dance/creation alba de miguel
the cie. toula limnaios is institutionally funded by the state of berlin, senate department for culture and europe.

concept/choreography

toula limnaios

music

ralf r. ollertz

dance/creation

daniel afonso, leonardo d’aquino, francesca bedin, laura beschi, priscilla fiuza, alessio scandale, hironori sugata, karolina wyrwal

technical director/lightdesign

felix grimm

touring cooperations

marie schmieder

choreographic assistance

ute pliestermann

lighting & stage technics

domenik engemann

reviews

×

»but the dance also stands for itself: the rebellion and sinking of the bodies, the lostness in the shock stiffness and the expressive acting into the space – a very fascinating dance language. […] accompanied by the music of ralf ollertz, co-founder of the company, this time an enraptured soundscape, even if the rustling, knocking, dripping, scraping and hammering seem to come from the mechanical, industrial world of sound. once again, toula limnaios digs into the depths of the human soul, feelings and thoughts and translates this into an expressive, elegant dance that is whimsically beautiful and often eerie and unsettling. a piece created in lockdown, under the impression of the experience of isolation, that casts a spell over you, almost captivates you and triggers an infinite number of interpretative associations.«
frank schmid, rbb

»”clair obscur” is an unsettling and skilfully executed dance of doppelgangers in which the audience is reminded that, as otto rank once wrote, a person’s past stubbornly clings to him and becomes his fate as soon as he tries to free himself from it. […] and so it is here and now. here in this dance, which is not a duet but an ensemble of silhouettes, sometimes moving across the stage in sheer synchrony, sometimes splitting into silent soliloquies. […] hence the three gauze curtains that divide the stage into four areas and transform the theatre into a kind of palimpsest in which, with each gauze curtain, the dancers in the distance become increasingly indistinct and the imprints of the others’ movements are inscribed. until the light shines down blindingly on us, the audience, who sit on opposite sides of the stage on chairs 1.5 metres apart and, it soon dawns on us, have our own shadows.« liza weber, tanzschreiber

»the audience watches the performance from two opposite sides of the stage. the stage is divided by four walls that separate the dancers from each other in pairs. thanks to their transparency, the four walls also allow us to see the dancers who are on the opposite side of the performative space in a game of ‘chiaroscuro’. in this mirror dance, one performer becomes the shadow of the other. then this pattern breaks up and in a dynamic, intense and brilliant dance, suggestive images full of symbolism follow one another. finally, as in a hall of mirrors, the action of one is reflected in the other and reproduces itself endlessly. […] the great achievement of the new production of the cie. toula limnaios, apart from the choreography, the artistry, the precision, the harmony of the dancers and the music by ralf r. ollertz, lies in transforming the limits set by the emergency into stimuli for creativity. the idea of bringing suggestive shadows and transparency games to life, dividing the space and justifying this necessity with the dramaturgy of the piece, shows how much an artist’s inventiveness is what allows to go beyond creativity again and again and to enliven art. i couldn’t ask for a better return to live dance!«
nicola campanelli, campadidanza

ausgangspunkt des tanzstückes ist die thematik der schatten, frei inspiriert nach adelbert chamissos kunstmärchen »peter schlemihls wundersame geschichte«, welches im jahre 1813 verfasst wurde und die geschichte eines mannes erzählt, der seinen schatten verkauft. »clair obscur« ist der versuch sich an die komplexität und vielschichtigkeit von schatten und deren paradox heran zu tasten, denn schatten haben viele gesichter.
die halle verwandelt sich in einen zweigeteilten bühnenraum. die zwei seiten stehen sich gegenüber, wie zwei seiten der gleichen medaille, wie licht und schatten, wie tag und nacht – die eine kann nicht ohne die andere existieren und so ist dieses werk komponiert: die zwei perspektiven sind untrennbar und doch einzeln wahrnehmbar…

»sehen sie, wie dieser körper seinen schatten wirft und wie aus ihm träume geboren werden.« Henri Bosco
wer hat nicht schon versucht seinen schatten beim gehen zu fangen? wer hat sich nicht über diese seltsame erscheinung gewundert, die uns ständig begleitet, aber auch immer entgleitet? von platons »höhlengleichnis« über carl gustav jungs »analytischen psychologie« bis zur traumwelt eines jeden menschen, verschleiert und enthüllt der schatten die geheimnisse der welt.

woher kommt dieser schatten? was erzählt uns der schatten? und wohin entweicht er, wenn wir ihn nicht mehr sehen? was ist das für ein schatten, der auf der suche nach seinem körper wandert, und was ist ein körper ohne schatten?
der verrückte versuch den schatten zu fangen, ist immer zum scheitern verurteilt.

»in diesen schattenphasen bin ich unfähig zu denken, zu fühlen, zu lieben.« fernando pessoa
es gibt aber auch schatten, die unsere existenz verdecken. sie entfalten sich, agieren und leben in der stille. schatten können viele namen haben… sie erscheinen um die ecke, im unerwarteten und ergreifen plötzlich von uns besitz. schattenseiten, die in uns hausen und die wir mit uns tragen. schatten die entstehen, voller zweifel, voller illusionen. sie greifen über unsere sinne auf die sichtbare welt zu und ergreifen besitz in der unbeständigkeit.

premiere 2021 tanz/kreation alba de miguel
die cie. toula limnaios wird institutionell gefördert durch das land berlin, senatsverwaltung für kultur und europa.

konzept/choreographie

toula limnaios

musik

ralf r. ollertz

tanz/kreation

daniel afonso, leonardo d’aquino, francesca bedin, laura beschi, priscilla fiuza, alessio scandale, hironori sugata, karolina wyrwal

technischer leiter/lichtdesign

felix grimm

choreographische assistenz

ute pliestermann

tourneen kooperationen

marie schmieder

licht und bühnentechnik

domenik engemann

kostüme

antonia limnaios

kritiken

×

»aber der tanz steht auch für sich: das aufbegehren und einsinken der körper, die verlorenheit in der schockstarre und das expressive in den raum hinein agieren – eine sehr faszinierende tanzsprache. […] begleitet von der musik von ralf ollertz, mitbegründer der company, diesmal eine entrückte klanglandschaft, auch wenn das rauschen, klopfen, tropfen, schaben und hämmern aus der mechanischen, industriellen klangwelt zu kommen scheint.toula limnaios schürft einmal mehr in den tiefen der menschlichen seele, der empfindungen und gedanken und setzt das in einen expressiven, eleganten tanz um, der wunderlich-schön ist und oft unheimlich und beunruhigend wirkt. ein im lockdown, unter dem eindruck der vereinzelungs-erfahrungen entstandenes stück, das einen in seinen bann zieht, geradezu fesselt und unendlich viele deutungs-assoziationen auslöst.«
frank schmid, rbb

»“clair obscur“ ist ein beunruhigender und geschickt ausgeführter tanz der doppelgänger, in dem das publikum daran erinnert wird, dass, wie otto rank einst schrieb, die vergangenheit eines menschen hartnäckig an ihm haftet und zu seinem schicksal wird, sobald er versucht, sich von ihr zu befreien. […]
und so auch hier und jetzt. hier in diesem tanz, der kein duett ist, sondern ein ensemble von silhouetten, die sich mal in schierer synchronität über die bühne bewegen, mal sich in stille selbstgespräche aufspalten. […]
daher die drei gazevorhänge, die die bühne in vier bereiche unterteilen und das theater in eine art palimpsest verwandeln, in dem mit jedem gazevorhang die tänzer in der ferne immer undeutlicher werden und sich die abdrücke der bewegungen der anderen einschreiben. bis das licht blendend auf uns, das publikum, herabscheint, das auf den gegenüberliegenden seiten der bühne auf stühlen sitzt, die 1,5 meter voneinander entfernt sind, und, so dämmert es uns bald, unsere eigenen schatten hat.« liza weber, tanzschreiber

»die bühne wird durch vier wände geteilt, die die tänzerinnen und tänzer paarweise voneinander trennen. dank ihrer transparenz erlauben die vier wände in einem spiel von ›chiaroscuro‹, auch die tänzerinnen und tänzer zu sehen, die sich auf der gegenüberliegenden seite des performativen raums aufhalten. in diesem spiegeltanz werden die einen darsteller zu den schatten der anderen. dann bricht dieses muster auf und in einem dynamischen, intensiven und brillanten tanz folgen suggestive bilder voller symbolik aufeinander. schließlich wird, wie in einem spiegelsäle, die aktion des einen im anderen reflektiert und reproduziert sich endlos. […] die große leistung der neuen produktion der cie. toula limnaios liegt neben der choreographie, der kunstfertigkeit, der präzision, der harmonie der tänzerinnen und tänzer und der musik von ralf r. ollertz darin, die durch die notlage gesetzten grenzen in anregungen zur kreativität umzuwandeln. die idee, suggestive schatten und transparenzspiele zum leben zu erwecken, den raum zu teilen und diese notwendigkeit mit der dramaturgie des stücks zu begründen, zeigt, wie sehr der erfindungsreichtum einer künstlerin das ist, was es erlaubt, immer wieder über die kreativität hinauszugehen und die kunst zu beleben. ich könnte mir keine bessere rückkehr zum live-tanz wünschen!«
nicola campanelli, campadidanza