in »tempus fugit« the cie. toula limnaios remain on the trail of time. deeply embedded therein is the all too human desire for happiness. nietzsche saw it embodied in a grazing herd of animals, living entirely in the now – a state, which he envied them for, having neither past nor future. in »tempus fugit«, seven dancers continually move as a group, as a flowing unit.

propelled forward by an inner unison, they produce an all-embracing tide. a round dance like a single shared movement nevertheless at moments revealing the individual.

nothing lasts forever – the flow of time cannot be detained. but how do we really live in it? has the hustle and bustle of daily life consumed us all? compared to the breathlessness of our lives, the horde resembles a muscle, brimming with vitality and solidarity. mass and identity, power and momentum are its central phenomena – the group as a microcosm that frees us from the prison of isolation and unleashes new strength.

premiere 2016 dance/creation: katja scholz, daeho lee, inhee yu

a cie. toula limnaios production with kind support by senate for culture and europe 2016.

concept/choreography

toula limnaios

music

ralf r. ollertz

dance/creation

daniel afonso, leonardo d’aquino, laura beschi, alba de miguel, alessio scandale, hironori sugata, karolina wyrwal

lightdesign

felix grimm

space/costumes

antonia limnaios, toula limnaios

choreographic assistance

ute pliestermann

lighting & stage technics

domenik engemann, jan römer

reviews

»her last dance piece “minute papilon” was about the fleetingness of happiness. in the new production “tempus fugit”, the choreographer meditates on the finite nature of existence. the seven distinguished dancers lean against the dictates of time.« (tagesspiegel, ticket, sandra luzina, 08.12.2016.)

»toula limnaios is known to reframe classical works of art and literature into sensational dance pieces with a strong focus on human connections. in „tempus fugit“ from intricate floor-work to flying across the stage, the agile bodies of the dancers were well-adapted to limnaios’ highly charged movement vocabulary.« (berlinartlink, beatrix joyce, 03.01.20178)

»toula limnaios elicits fervent feelings /// an incredible creative power is ascribed to almost every true artist; yet there are two kinds of artists – those kissed by the muse every few years and those toula limnaios belongs to. the berlin-based choreographer never ceases to evolve, regenerate, and scrutinize in order to bestow upon the audience new and challenging experiences that go under the skin.

her newest production “tempus fugit” can be best described as a concentrate of harrowing and powerful emotions: toula spares nobody here! just as in her poetic “minute papillon” (december 2015), the human herd behaviour and the consequent peer pressure stand in the middle of toula´s narrative interest. her piece tackles the shallow depths of present times and penetrates into the spaces in which one sweats out their emotions. the intertwining and divisive lines of the seven dancers (daniel afonso, leonardo d’aquino, daeho lee, katja scholz, hironori sugata, karolina wyrwal, inhee yu), merge to seize the entire space with a hectic performance. a strong gestural intensity emerges between uplifts and tormented glances.

on a stage covered by a sea of dead leaves, a dance of automatons commences and exposes one or two black sheep on the horizon. the poignant katja scholz is one of them. the virtuous dancer attempts to stand out, yet she quickly returns on the planned track, like a small obedient robot roughly guided by one of her ‘master-like’ colleagues. an additional strong image: each protagonist strives to imitate the movements of an infant or a doll that is continuously abused by the others. an all-too-effective metaphor that touches with its cold (and perhaps truthful?) perversity.

resembling puppets, the bodies (covered with dry clay) swirl, intersect, crash against the wall and stumble over each other. like time, they go backwards and forwards in entanglement which simultaneously constructs and collapses them. hearts are also short of breath with the rhythm of this destructive, frantic life on the edge of the madness. the flesh is accentuated and the faces are tense. as the lines are dispersed, they nevertheless fuse together in a common and cacophonic roar.

in combination with the unusual musical soundtrack (haydn, mahler and ralf r. ollertz), the power of the form fluctutates between attraction and aversion. this newly arranged score undeniably fits the circumstances and is in perfect tune with the oppression manifested. a glimmer of hope ? not really. the last scene, in which leonardo d aquino tramples over the bodies laughing, leaves everyone in the audience pensive.« (cccdanse.com, reviews, léa chalmont, 12.12.2016.)

mit tempus fugit bleibt die cie. toula limnaios der zeit auf der spur. tief sitzend darin ist die allzu menschliche sehnsucht nach dem glück. nietzsche sieht es in einer herde von tieren verkörpert, die ganz im augenblick leben, worum er sie beneidet, weil es für sie keine vergangenheit und zukunft gibt. in »tempus fugit« bewegen sich sieben tänzer/innen in einer sich fortwährend als gruppe fließenden einheit.

von einem inneren gleichklang angetrieben, entsteht ein strom, der alles umschließt. ein reigen wie eine einzige gemeinsame bewegung, die dennoch den einzelnen im moment offenbart.

 

alles ist endlich – die zeit lässt sich nicht festhalten. aber wie leben wir in ihr wirklich? hat uns die hektik des alltags eingenommen? gegenüber der atemlosigkeit unseres lebens wirkt die horde als muskel, voller vitalität und verbundenheit. masse und identität, macht und eigendynamik sind in ihr zentrale phänomene – die gruppe als mikrokosmos, die uns aus dem gefängnis der isolation befreit und neue kräfte entfesselt.

premiere 2016 tanz/kreation: katja scholz, daeho lee, inhee yu

die cie. toula limnaios wird institutionell gefördert durch das land berlin, senatsverwaltung für kultur und europa.

konzept/choreographie

toula limnaios

musik

ralf r. ollertz

tanz/kreation

daniel afonso, leonardo d’aquino, priscilla fiuza, alba de miguel, alessio scandale, hironori sugata, karolina wyrwal

lichtdesign

felix grimm

raum/kostüme

antonia limnaios, toula limnaios

choreographische assistenz

ute pliestermann

public relation

silke wiethe

licht und bühnentechnik

domenik engemann, jan römer

kritiken

»schon ihr letztes tanzstück ›minute papillon‹ handelte von der flüchtigkeit des glücks. in ihrem neuen stück ›tempus fugit‹ meditiert die choreographin über die endlichkeit der existenz. die sieben famosen tänzer lehnen sich gegen das diktat der zeit.« (tagesspiegel, ticket, sandra luzina, 08.12.2016.)

»toula limnaios ist dafür bekannt, klassische werke aus kunst und literatur in sensationelle tanzstücke umzuwandeln, wobei der schwerpunkt auf menschlichen verbindungen liegt. von komplizierter bodenarbeit bis zum überfliegen der bühne, waren in ›tempus fugit‹ die agilen körper der tänzer gut an limnaios hoch aufgeladenes bewegungsvokabular angepasst.« (berlinartlink, beatrix joyce, 03.01.20178)

»toula limnaios löst glühende emotionen aus /// zwar lässt sich wohl jede/r wahre/n künstlerin sagenhafte kreative schaffenskraft nachsagen, und dennoch gibt es solche und solche. die einen werde nur alle zwei, drei jahre von der muse geküsst, zu den anderen gehört toula limnaios. die berliner choreographin wird nicht müde, sich ständig zu verändern, zu erneuern und zu hinterfragen, um dergestalt dem publikum dauerhaft anspruchsvolle erfahrungen zu bieten, die und immer wieder unter die haut gehen.

ihre aktuelle produktion tempus fugit lässt sich am besten als konzentrat schmerzhafter und gewaltiger emotionen beschreiben: toula schont hier niemanden mehr! gleich dem poetischer angelegten ›minute papillon‹ (dezember 2015) steht menschliches herdenverhalten und der druck, die peer pressure, die damit einhergeht im zentrum von toulas erzählerischem interesse. ihr stück lotet die untiefen der gegenwart aus, dringt in bereiche vor, in denen der mensch seine emotionalität gewissermaßen ausschwitzt. die sich verflechtenden und teilenden linien der sieben tänzerinnen (daniel afonso, leonardo d’aquino, daeho lee, katja scholz, hironori sugata, karolina wyrwal, inhee yu), verschwimmen immer mehr, um den ganzen raum einer hektischen interpretation einzunehmen. zwischen fliegenden hebungen und gequälten blicken entspannt sich eine intensive gestik.

auf einem die bühne abgrenzenden blättermeer beginnt der tanz der automaten, der immer auch ein oder zwei schwarze schafe am horizont offenbart. die mitreißende katja scholz ist eines dieser individuen und die tänzerin versucht sich mit hilfe ihrer virtuosität am ausdruck der eigenen differenz. schnell reiht sie sich allerdings wieder in reih und glied ein, wie ein kleiner, braver roboter, der etwas schroff von einem der anderen kollegen oder ’meister’ zur ordnung gerufen wird. ein weiteres starkes bild: jeder der protagonisten müht sich damit ab, die bewegungen eines säuglings zu imitieren, bzw. einer puppe, die der reihe nach von allen missbraucht wird. eine allzu wirksame metapher, die durch kalte und wahre perversität besticht.

marionetten gleich wirbeln und kreuzen sich die körper, die mit einer art getrockneten lehm überzogenen sind, werfen sich gegen wände und stolpern übereinander. wie die zeit, bewegen sie sich rückwärts vorwärts und werfen sich voran in verflechtungen, die sie gleichzeitig anziehen und stürzen lassen. aber auch die herzen geraten außer atem im rhythmus dieses destruktiven und frenetischen lebens am rande des wahnsinns. häute spannen und gesichter verzerren sich. und im auseinandergehen der linien, finden diese im gemeinsamen und kakophonen geschrei doch wieder zueinander.

in verbindung mit der ungewöhnlichen, musikalischen mischung (die haydn, mahler und ralf r. ollertz miteinander verbindet), oszilliert die kraft der form zwischen anziehung und abneigung. die neu arrangierte partitur ist dabei durchaus dem anlass angemessen, passend zu dem erdrückenden geschehen. ist dies etwa ein hoffnungsschimmer? eher nicht. denn das letzte bild, welches zeigt, wie leonardo d’aquino schallend lachend über den körperhaufen trampelt, lässt die herzen der zuschauer nachdenklich.« (cccdanse.com, reviews, léa chalmont, 12.12.2016.)

Slide