»there is not love of life, without despair about life.« (camus)
in his essay »l’envers et l’endroit/ betwixt and between« camus reflects his feelings of alienation in a world, which he perceived to be paradox, in which human life is fundamentally absurd, but which is nevertheless worth living, even happily. in »if i was real« eight dancers oscillate in a split space between these two poles: creating images full of secret hidden coherencies, which seem simultaneously strange and familiar. created in 2013 for her own company, toula limnaios has now created a new version for and with the tanztheatermünster.

»astonishing how toula limnaios and her company reinvent themselves over and over again.« (neues deutschland, karin schmidt-feister, 2013)

 

»whereas in ›if i was real‹, she surprisingly leaves fate, pain and suffering behind and takes off into a round dance of festive-wild beauty.« (kulturradio, frank schmid, 2013)

(guestappearance of tanztheatermünster)

a tanztheatermünster production (2016): artistic director & chief choreographer: hans henning paar, associate artistic director, assistant & training instructor: lászló nyakas, dramaturgy & management: esther von der fuhr

photos: berg

concept/choreography

toula limnaios

music

ralf r. ollertz

dance/creation

ensemble of tanztheatermünster: maria bayarri pérez, mirko de campi, adam dembczynski, agnès girard, priscilla fiuza, jason franklin, ako nakanome, tri thanh pham, alessio sanna, elizabeth towles, keelan whitmore

space/costumes

antonia limnaios, toula limnaios

assistance

lászló nyakas, giacomo corvaia

reviews

»the cie. toula limnaios takes a special place in the big dance scene of berlin. it has been working in berlin continuously for 15 year, it has had its own venue – halle in prenzlauer berg for 10 years, and, besides the company of sasha waltz, it is the only company in berlin working with a permanent dance ensemble.
despair and love /// inspired by camus – is the appropriate description of this choreography. namely, the inspirational material were early essays, camus’ erstling light and shadow from 1937. yet, it is impossible to translate camus into images, toula limnaios just said in an interview. however, references can be found: inspired by camus, light and shadow here are to be understood as rejection and acceptance of the world as it is, as consciously experienced strangeness and celebration of its beauty, as despair in life and love for life, all of which inseparably belongs together, as camus says. It’s a field of tension in which toula limnaios nevertheless moves. she does so in her existentially based magical realism, to which poetry and drama belong as sisters. whereas in her new choreography, she surprisingly leaves fate, pain and suffering behind and and takes off into a round dance of festive-wild beauty.«  (kulturradio, frank schmid, 2013)

»a janus-faced dance between thin lines /// … spaces slide in and out of each other…
astonishing how toula limnaios and her company, based in the halle tanzbühne for 10 years now, reinvent themselves over and over again.
on the stage divided in three spaces, eight performers wander between worlds. … in the polyphonic solo and group images, the protagonists are barely reminiscent of lone warriors, of ragged individuals who wear themselves out fighting each other. no, in her new work toula limnaios permanently dissolves the powerful unison formations. she creates sensual movement reflections, full of fleeting and sensitive beauty.
inspired by camus’ ›l’envers et l’endroit / light and shadow‹, the versatile company ›cie. toula limnaios‹ bestows us a danced essay on possibilities of being. silent, mysterious, open to new perspectives, a bit crazy.« (neues deutschland, karin schmidt-feister, 2013)

»Es gibt keine Liebe zum Leben ohne Verzweiflung am Leben« (camus)
In seinem Essay »l’envers et l’endroit/ Licht und Schatten« reflektiert Camus sein Gefühl der Fremdheit gegenüber einer als paradox empfundenen Welt, in dem das menschliche Leben als fundamental absurd, aber dennoch lebenswert, sogar glücklich, verstanden wird. In »if I was real« pendeln acht Tänzer in einem geteilten Raum zwischen diesen beiden Polen: Es entstehen Bilder voller Geheimnisse von verborgenem Zusammenhang, die seltsam und vertraut zugleich erscheinen. Geschaffen 2013 für ihre eigene Compagnie, kreierte die Choreographin nun eine neue Version mit dem TanzTheaterMünster.

»ganz erstaunlich, wie toula limnaios und ihre compagnie sich immer wieder neu erfinden.« (neues deutschland, karin schmidt-feister, 2013)

 

»..›if I was real‹ lässt überraschenderweise schicksal, schmerz und leid hinter sich und hebt ab zu einem reigen festlich-wilder schönheit.« (kulturradio)

(gastspiel des tanztheatermünster)

eine Produktion des tanztheatermünster (2016): künstlerischer Leiter & chefchoreograf: hans henning paar; stellvertretender künstlerischer leiter, assistent & trainingsleiter: lászló nyakas; dramaturgie & management: esther von der fuhr

fotos: oliver berg

konzept/choreographie

toula limnaios

musik

ralf r. ollertz

tanz/kreation

ensemble des tanztheatermünster: maria bayarri pérez, mirko de campi, adam dembczynski, agnès girard, priscilla fiuza, jason franklin, ako nakanome, tri thanh pham, alessio sanna, elizabeth towles, keelan whitmore

raum/kostüme

antonia limnaios, toula limnaios

assistenz

lászló nyakas, giacomo corvaia

kritiken

»in der großen tanzszene berlins nimmt die compagnie toula limnaios eine sonderstellung ein. seit 15 jahren arbeitet sie kontinuierlich in berlin, seit zehn jahren verfügt sie mit der halle im prenzlauer berg über eine eigene spielstätte und neben der compagnie von sasha waltz ist sie die einzige in berlin, die mit einem festen tänzer-ensemble arbeitet.
verzweiflung und liebe /// von camus inspiriert – ist die passende beschreibung für diese choreografie. zwar waren frühe essays, camus erstling licht und schatten von 1937, anregungsmaterial. aber camus zu verbildlichen, sei unmöglich, hat toula limnaios gerade in einem interview gesagt. anklänge lassen sich jedoch finden: licht und schatten sind hier, angelehnt an camus, zu verstehen als ablehnung und annahme der welt, wie sie ist, als bewusst erlebte fremdheit und feier ihrer schönheit, als verzweiflung am leben und liebe zum leben, was untrennbar zueinander gehört, wie camus sagt. ein spannungsfeld, in dem sich toula limnaios ohnehin bewegt, in ihrem existenzialistisch grundierten magischen realismus, zu dem poesie und dramatik als schwestern gehören. wobei sie in ihrer neuen choreografie überraschenderweise schicksal, schmerz und leid hinter sich lässt und zu einem reigen festlich-wilder schönheit abhebt.«  (kulturradio, frank schmid, 2013)

»janusköpfiger tanz zwischen dünnen linien /// … räume schieben sich ineinander …
ganz erstaunlich, wie toula limnaios und ihre seit zehn jahren in der halle tanzbühne berlin beheimatete compagnie sich immer wieder neu erfinden.
so schweifen die acht interpreten in einem dreifach geteilten bühnenraum zwischen welten umher. … die protagonisten erinnern in den mehrstimmigen solo- und gruppenbildern nur noch wenig an einzelkämpfer, an zerrüttete individuen, die sich im gegeneinander verausgaben. nein, in dieser neuen arbeit löst toula limnaios die kraftvollen unisono-formationen permanent auf. sie kreiert sinnliche bewegungs-spiegelungen flüchtiger, empfindsamer schönheit.
die wandlungsfähige compagnie ›cie. toula limnaios‹ schenkt uns einen getanzten essay inspiriert von camus’ ›l’envers et l’endroit/licht und schatten‹ über möglichkeiten des seins. leise, geheimnisvoll, offen für neue blickrichtungen, ein bisschen verrückt.« (neues deutschland, karin schmidt-feister, 2013)

Slide