»shifted realities« is a double solo by choreographer toula limnaios and her long-time dancer hironori sugata. the two are about the same age and bound by a deep mutual appreciation. now both are on the stage together, each in their own unique way.

»for example, the body of the dancer stretches out beyond the room, which is at the same time an inner and outer space for him« wrote foucault in 1966. according to the philosopher, it is only the reflection of the human being that makes him understand his whole form through the idea of himself. the double solo pursues this idea of parallel displacement. we do not stand on our own, but affect each other. each one influences the life of the other and a bit the world too, with his deeds, his energy, his impact…

two dancers in their own room, parallel to each other, simultaneously and thus not isolated, not in sync, but in mutual influence. – an exceedance of space and time, which allows autonomy as well as transformation. the space in which we live is not a vacuum, but is always connected with roots, stories, and the life of another.
with the double solo she exploits further the potential of the individual, full of opposing references and indications. according to lucretius, “things create their own visibility by constantly sending thin layers of their outer shell into space, leaving corresponding imprints on our retina.

a cie. toula limnaios production supported by the city of berlin, department for culture and europe. presented by: exberliner, tip berlin.

concept/choreography

toula limnaios

music

ralf r. ollertz

dance/creation

hironori sugata, toula limnaios

lightdesign

felix grimm

space/costumes

antonia limnaios, toula limnaios

choreographic assistance

ute pliestermann

public relation

silke wiethe

touring cooperations

sanya tsekov

lighting & stage technics

domenik engemann, jan römer, leo tsirigotis

»shifted realities« ist ein doppel-solo der choreografin toula limnaios mit ihrem langjährigen tänzer hironori sugata. seit 2005 ist er mit kurzer unterbrechung im ensemble der 1996 gegründeten cie. toula limnaios. beide sind ungefähr im gleichen alter und sie verbindet eine tiefe wertschätzung. nun stehen beide gemeinsam auf der bühne, jeder in seiner unnachahmlichen art.

»dehnt doch zum beispiel der körper des tänzers sich über den raum aus, der für ihn zugleich ein innerer und äußerer raum ist.« schrieb 1966 foucault. laut dem philosophen ist es erst das spiegeln des menschen, das ihn über die vorstellung seiner selbst seine ganze gestalt begreifen lässt. diesen gedanken der parallelverschiebung verfolgt das doppel-solo. wir stehen nicht für uns selbst, sondern beeinflussen uns. ein jeder das leben des anderen und ein stück auch die welt, durch seine taten, seine energie, seinen einfluss …

zwei tänzer in ihrem jeweils eigenen raum, parallel nebeneinander, gleichzeitig und so nicht isoliert, nicht synchron, sondern in gegenseitiger beeinflussung. – eine überschreitung von raum und zeit, die eigenständigkeit ebenso wie transformation zulässt. der raum, in dem wir leben, ist kein vakuum, sondern verknüpft/ überschneidet sich immer mit den wurzeln, geschichten und dem leben eines anderen.

mit dem doppel-solo schöpft sie mehr das potenzial des individuellen aus, voller gegenläufiger verweise und andeutungen. nach lukrez »erzeugen die dinge ihre eigene sichtbarkeit, indem sie ständig feine schichten ihrer äußeren hülle in den raum aussenden, die dann entsprechende abdrücke auf unserer netzhaut hinterlassen.

eine produktion der cie. toula limnaios mit freundlicher unterstützung des landes berlin, senatsverwaltung für kultur und europa. präsentiert von: exberliner, tip berlin.

konzept/choreographie

toula limnaios

Choreographie

hironori sugata, toula limnaios

musik

ralf r. ollertz

lichtdesign

felix grimm

raum/kostüme

antonia limnaios, toula limnaios

choreographische assistenz

ute pliestermann

public relation

silke wiethe

tourneen kooperationen

sanya tsekov

licht und bühnentechnik

domenik engemann, jan römer, leo tsirigotis