a visual diary
we have all become almost invisible to each other and the year 2021 hardly announces any great change, only perhaps a hint of hope….

everyone is huddling together trying to cope and overcome as best they can the enormous difficulties that this year brings for each of us. facing ourselves, others, another reality.

we don’t know how long this state will last and when the theatres will once again become a place of exchange, dialogue and even inspiration. our actions often speak louder than our words, so with the help of our digital diary »inmitten« we would like to share with you moments lived through and experienced by cie. toula limnaios in this particular time.

the visual diary »inmitten« is like a witness. it includes livestreams and a series of short documentaries. filmmaker bernd sahling accompanies our work with his camera and films rehearsals as well as technical set-ups, meetings, livestreams, improvisations and all the other concerns of our ensemble, furthermore he portrays our international ensemble members in personal interviews.we open our door and invite you to take a look behind the scenes, come and be our guest.

»i am not of the opinion that distance rules must result in social alienation. on the contrary: we must support each other, be close at heart. even without an embrace. for me, dance is still at the centre, creating with the dancers, dealing with each other, rubbing against each other – everything that makes us human.« toula limnaios

the cie. toula limnaios is supported by the state of berlin, senate administration for culture and europe.

live stream

concept/staging

toula limnaios

film/camera/editing

bernd sahling

live-music

ralf r. ollertz

dance/creation

daniel afonso, leonardo d’aquino, francesca bedin, laura beschi, alba de miguel, alessio scandale, hironori sugata, karolina wyrwal

technical director/lightdesign

felix grimm

choreographic assistance

ute pliestermann

touring cooperations

marie schmieder

lighting & stage technics

domenik engemann

ein visuelles tagebuch
wir sind alle fast unsichtbar füreinander geworden und das jahr 2021 kündigt kaum große veränderung an, nur vielleicht einen hauch von hoffnung…

jeder kauert sich zusammen und versucht die enormen schwierigkeiten, die dieses jahr für jeden von uns mit sich bringt, so gut wie möglich zu meistern und zu überwinden. sich selbst, anderen, einer anderen realität gegenüberstehen.

wir wissen nicht wie lange dieser zustand noch währt und wann die theater wieder zu einem ort des austauschs, des dialogs und sogar der inspiration werden. unsere taten sind oft lauter als unsere worte, deshalb möchten wir mit hilfe unseres visuellen tagebuchs »inmitten« durchlebte und erlebte momente der cie. toula limnaios in dieser besonderen zeit mit euch teilen.

das visuelle tagebuch »inmitten« ist dabei wie ein zeuge. es beinhaltet livestreams und eine reihe von kurzen dokumentarfilmen. der filmemacher bernd sahling begleitet unsere arbeit mit der kamera und filmt proben genauso wie technische umbauten, besprechungen, livestreams, improvisationen und all die anderen anliegen unseres ensembles und portraitiert in persönlichen interviews unsere internationalen ensemblemitglieder. wir öffnen die tür und laden ein, einen blick hinter die kulissen zu werfen.

»ich bin nicht der meinung, dass abstandsregeln soziale entfremdung zur folge haben müssen. im gegenteil: wir müssen uns unterstützen, nah sein im herzen. auch ohne umarmung. für mich steht der tanz weiterhin im mittelpunkt, mit den tänzern kreieren, sich auseinandersetzen, sich reiben – alles, was uns menschlich macht.« toula limnaios

die cie. toula limnaios wird institutionell gefördert durch das land berlin, senatsverwaltung für kultur und europa.

live stream

konzept/regie

toula limnaios

film/kamera/schnitt

bernd sahling

live-musik

ralf r. ollertz

tanz/kreation

daniel afonso, leonardo d’aquino, francesca bedin, laura beschi, alba de miguel, alessio scandale, hironori sugata, karolina wyrwal

technischer leiter/lichtdesign

felix grimm

choreographische assistenz

ute pliestermann

tourneen kooperationen

marie schmieder

licht und bühnentechnik

domenik engemann