»if i was real« is inspired by camu’s early literary essays “l’envers et l’endroit” (betwixt and between). the shadows stand for fear of strangeness, the silence of the world and the apparent lack of control over what is world. the light symbolizes the beauty, the acceptance of this incomprehensible world.

camus writes: »there is no love of life without desperation to live.« we are divided between these two poles, between feeling and rationality, the mind swings back and forth.
»if i was real« reflects paradoxes and ambiguities. the composition develops like a collection and shows fragmentary pictures full of secrets of hidden connection. without intrusive charging with specific “meaning”, they appear strange on the one hand, but on the other hand they are familiar in a way that cannot be properly named.

in search of an answer, the interpreters always roam about, stumble in a divided room. they invent rituals to dispel fear and come to their own limits in despair. a choreographic collection, a thin line between the recognizable reality of everyday life and a bizarre double world / dream world.

»astonishing how toula limnaios and her company reinvent themselves over and over again.« (neues deutschland, karin schmidt-feister, 2013) 

»whereas in ›if i was real‹, she surprisingly leaves fate, pain and suffering behind and takes off into a round dance of festive-wild beauty.« (kulturradio, frank schmid, 2013) 

a cie. toula limnaios production with kind support by the culture department of berlin.

concept/choreography

toula limnaios

music

ralf r. ollertz

dance/creation

giacomo corvaia, jozsef forro, marika gangemi, samuel minguillon, hironori sugata, karolina wyrwal, inhee yu, ann-christin zimmermann

lightdesign

jan langebartels

space/costumes

antonia limnaios, toula limnaios

public relation

silke wiethe

fotos

dieter hartwig, cyan

reviews

»the cie. toula limnaios takes a special place in the big dance scene of berlin. it has been working in berlin continuously for 15 year, it has had its own venue – halle in prenzlauer berg for 10 years, and, besides the company of sasha waltz, it is the only company in berlin working with a permanent dance ensemble.
despair and love /// inspired by camus – is the appropriate description of this choreography. namely, the inspirational material were early essays, camus’ erstling light and shadow from 1937. yet, it is impossible to translate camus into images, toula limnaios just said in an interview. however, references can be found: inspired by camus, light and shadow here are to be understood as rejection and acceptance of the world as it is, as consciously experienced strangeness and celebration of its beauty, as despair in life and love for life, all of which inseparably belongs together, as camus says. It’s a field of tension in which toula limnaios nevertheless moves. she does so in her existentially based magical realism, to which poetry and drama belong as sisters. whereas in her new choreography, she surprisingly leaves fate, pain and suffering behind and and takes off into a round dance of festive-wild beauty.«  (kulturradio, frank schmid, 2013)

»a janus-faced dance between thin lines /// … spaces slide in and out of each other…
astonishing how toula limnaios and her company, based in the halle tanzbühne for 10 years now, reinvent themselves over and over again.
on the stage divided in three spaces, eight performers wander between worlds. … in the polyphonic solo and group images, the protagonists are barely reminiscent of lone warriors, of ragged individuals who wear themselves out fighting each other. no, in her new work toula limnaios permanently dissolves the powerful unison formations. she creates sensual movement reflections, full of fleeting and sensitive beauty.
inspired by camus’ ›l’envers et l’endroit / light and shadow‹, the versatile company ›cie. toula limnaios‹ bestows us a danced essay on possibilities of being. silent, mysterious, open to new perspectives, a bit crazy.« (neues deutschland, karin schmidt-feister, 2013)

»if I was real« ist angeregt von camus frühen literarischen essays »l’envers et l’endroit/licht und schatten«. die schatten stehen für die angst vor der fremdheit, das schweigen der welt und den offensichtlichen mangel an kontrolle über das, was welt ist. das licht symbolisiert die schönheit, die annahme dieser unverständlichen welt.
camus schreibt: »es gibt keine liebe zum leben ohne verzweiflung am leben.« wir sind zwischen diesen beiden polen geteilt, zwischen gefühl und rationalität, der verstand schwingt in einem hin und her.
»if I was real« reflektiert paradoxien und mehrdeutigkeiten. die komposition entwickelt sich wie eine sammlung und zeigt fragmentarische bilder voller geheimnisse von verborgenem zusammenhang. ohne aufdringliche aufladung mit spezifischer »bedeutung«, erscheinen sie einerseits fremdartig, anderseits aber auch auf eine weise vertraut, die nicht so recht benannt werden kann.

auf der suche nach einer antwort schweifen die interpreten stets umher, taumeln in einem geteilten raum. sie erfinden rituale, um die angst zu vertreiben und stoßen voller verzweiflung auf ihre eigenen grenzen. eine choreographische sammlung, eine dünne linie zwischen der wieder erkennbaren realität des alltags und einer bizarren doppelwelt/traumwelt.

»ganz erstaunlich, wie toula limnaios und ihre compagnie sich immer wieder neu erfinden.« (neues deutschland, karin schmidt-feister, 2013) 

»wobei sie in ›if I was real‹ überraschenderweise schicksal, schmerz und leid hinter sich lässt und zu einem reigen festlich-wilder schönheit abhebt.« (kulturradio, frank schmid, 2013) 

die cie. toula limnaios wird institutionell gefördert durch das land berlin, senatsverwaltung für kultur und europa.

konzept/choreographie

toula limnaios

musik

ralf r. ollertz

tanz/kreation

giacomo corvaia, jozsef forro, marika gangemi, samuel minguillon, hironori sugata, karolina wyrwal, inhee yu, ann-christin zimmermann

lichtdesign

jan langebartels

raum/kostüme

antonia limnaios, toula limnaios

public relation

silke wiethe

fotos

dieter hartwig, cyan

kritiken

»in der großen tanzszene berlins nimmt die compagnie toula limnaios eine sonderstellung ein. seit 15 jahren arbeitet sie kontinuierlich in berlin, seit zehn jahren verfügt sie mit der halle im prenzlauer berg über eine eigene spielstätte und neben der compagnie von sasha waltz ist sie die einzige in berlin, die mit einem festen tänzer-ensemble arbeitet.
verzweiflung und liebe /// von camus inspiriert – ist die passende beschreibung für diese choreografie. zwar waren frühe essays, camus erstling licht und schatten von 1937, anregungsmaterial. aber camus zu verbildlichen, sei unmöglich, hat toula limnaios gerade in einem interview gesagt. anklänge lassen sich jedoch finden: licht und schatten sind hier, angelehnt an camus, zu verstehen als ablehnung und annahme der welt, wie sie ist, als bewusst erlebte fremdheit und feier ihrer schönheit, als verzweiflung am leben und liebe zum leben, was untrennbar zueinander gehört, wie camus sagt. ein spannungsfeld, in dem sich toula limnaios ohnehin bewegt, in ihrem existenzialistisch grundierten magischen realismus, zu dem poesie und dramatik als schwestern gehören. wobei sie in ihrer neuen choreografie überraschenderweise schicksal, schmerz und leid hinter sich lässt und zu einem reigen festlich-wilder schönheit abhebt.«  (kulturradio, frank schmid, 2013)

»janusköpfiger tanz zwischen dünnen linien /// … räume schieben sich ineinander …
ganz erstaunlich, wie toula limnaios und ihre seit zehn jahren in der halle tanzbühne berlin beheimatete compagnie sich immer wieder neu erfinden.
so schweifen die acht interpreten in einem dreifach geteilten bühnenraum zwischen welten umher. … die protagonisten erinnern in den mehrstimmigen solo- und gruppenbildern nur noch wenig an einzelkämpfer, an zerrüttete individuen, die sich im gegeneinander verausgaben. nein, in dieser neuen arbeit löst toula limnaios die kraftvollen unisono-formationen permanent auf. sie kreiert sinnliche bewegungs-spiegelungen flüchtiger, empfindsamer schönheit.
die wandlungsfähige compagnie ›cie. toula limnaios‹ schenkt uns einen getanzten essay inspiriert von camus’ ›l’envers et l’endroit/licht und schatten‹ über möglichkeiten des seins. leise, geheimnisvoll, offen für neue blickrichtungen, ein bisschen verrückt.« (neues deutschland, karin schmidt-feister, 2013)

Slide