»see how this body casts its shadow and how dreams are born from it.« henri bosco
the starting point of the dance piece is the theme of shadows, loosely inspired by adelbert chamisso’s art fairy tale »the wonderful history of peter schlemihl«, which was written in 1813 and tells the story of a man who sells his shadow. »clair obscur« is an attempt to approach the complexity and multi-layeredness of shadows and their paradox, because shadows have many faces.
the halle is transformed into a stage divided into two parts. the two parts face each other like two sides of the same coin, like light and shadow, like day and night – one cannot exist without the other and this is how this work is composed: the two perspectives are inseparable and yet can be perceived separately…

who hasn’t tried to catch their shadow while walking back then? who has not wondered about this strange apparition that constantly accompanies us, but also always slips away? from plato’s »allegory of the cave« to carl gustav jung’s »analytical psychology« to the dream world of every human being, the shadow veils and reveals the secrets of the world.

concept/choreography/space toula limnaios music ralf r. ollertz dance/creation  daniel afonso, francesca bedin, laura beschi, leonardo d’aquino, alba de miguel, alessio scandale, hironori sugata, karolina wyrwal lightdesign/technical director felix grimm chorographic assistance ute pliestermann  lighttechnic domenik engemann costumes antonia limnaios touring/cooperations marie schmieder editing giacomo corvaia

the cie. toula limnaios is institutionally supported by the state of berlin, senate administration for culture and europe. ©2021

»sehen sie, wie dieser körper seinen schatten wirft und wie aus ihm träume geboren werden.« henri bosco

ausgangspunkt des tanzstückes ist die thematik der schatten, frei inspiriert nach adelbert chamissos kunstmärchen »peter schlemihls wundersame geschichte«, welches im jahre 1813 verfasst wurde und die geschichte eines mannes erzählt, der seinen schatten verkauft. »clair obscur« ist der versuch sich an die komplexität und vielschichtigkeit von schatten und deren paradox heran zu tasten, denn schatten haben viele gesichter.
die halle verwandelt sich in einen zweigeteilten bühnenraum. die zwei seiten stehen sich gegenüber, wie zwei seiten der gleichen medaille, wie licht und schatten, wie tag und nacht – die eine kann nicht ohne die andere existieren und so ist dieses werk komponiert: die zwei perspektiven sind untrennbar und doch einzeln wahrnehmbar…

wer hat nicht schon versucht seinen schatten beim gehen zu fangen? wer hat sich nicht über diese seltsame erscheinung gewundert, die uns ständig begleitet, aber auch immer entgleitet? von platons »höhlengleichnis« über carl gustav jungs »analytischen psychologie« bis zur traumwelt eines jeden menschen, verschleiert und enthüllt der schatten die geheimnisse der welt.

konzept/choreographie toula limnaios musik ralf r. ollertz tanz/kreation daniel afonso, francesca bedin, laura beschi, leonardo d’aquino, alba de miguel, alessio scandale, hironori sugata, karolina wyrwal choreographische assistenz ute pliestermann lichtdesign/technischer leiter felix grimm licht/bühnentechnik domenik engemann kostüme antonia limnaios tourneen/kooperationen marie schmieder trailer schnitt giacomo corvaia

die cie. toula limnaios wird institutionell gefördert aus mitteln des landes berlin, senatsverwaltung für kultur und europa. ©2021