»we are made« is the first ever dance film made by the cie. toula limnaios, in collaboration with giacomo corvaia.

after four years as a dancer in the ensemble, he is now behind the camera.
choreographic miniatures from pieces, filmed with dancers of the ensemble, are placed in alternative contexts outside the stage. these worlds are transformed and modified for the film. the camera emphasizes details and like a witness of time passin recounts the stretch of almost an entire year.
the micro-worlds are filmed in places that seem to have fallen out of time – monuments of history or places in constant transition – thus creating alternate contexts. the movements are thus read in new ways, putting them into new perspective in a interweaving of images.

»we are made« is a series of portraits connected to one another, that contradict, harmonize and enter into a dialog with each other …. the images chase one another. the figures explore landscapes that are both distinct and obscure at the same time, like in a daydream – apparitions from dreams, memories rooted in daily life, filled with beauty and poetry.

a cie. toula limnaios production with kind support by the senate for culture and Europe of berlin.

artistic director/choreography

toula limnaios

film/camera/editing

giacomo corvaia

music

ralf r. ollertz, paul tinsley

dance/creation

daniel afonso, leonardo d’aquino, daeho lee, katja scholz, hironori sugata, karolina wyrwal, inhee yu

costumes

antonia limnaios, toula limnaios

assistance

ute pliestermann

public relation

silke wiethe

lighting & stage technics

domenik engemann, jan römer

ein tanzfilm der cie. toula limnaios in zusammenarbeit mit giacomo corvaia.

nach vier jahren als tänzer im ensemble, ist giacomo corvaia heute hinter der kamera.
choreographische miniaturen aus stücken, gedreht mit den tänzern des ensembles, werden außerhalb der bühne in einen anderen kontext gestellt. für den film werden diese welten verwandelt und modifiziert. die kamera hebt details hervor und wie ein zeuge der zeit erzählt sie eine strecke von fast einem jahr.
es entsteht ein anderer zusammenhang, wenn diese mikrowelten an orten gefilmt werden, die wie aus der zeit gefallen zu sein scheinen, denkmäler der geschichte sind oder sich in stetiger transformation befinden. sie ergeben eine neue lesart und werden in einem geflecht von bildern neu in beziehung gesetzt.

»we are made« ist eine reihe von portraits, die miteinander verkettet sind, sich widersprechen, harmonisieren, in dialoge treten … die bilder jagen sich, die figuren erkunden landschaften, wie ein tagtraum deutlich und verworren zugleich – erscheinungen aus träumen, erinnerungen, deren wurzel im alltag stecken kann, voll schönheit und poesie.

eine produktion der cie. toula limnaios mit freundlicher unterstützung der senatskanzlei für kulturelle angelegenheiten des landes berlin.

künstlerische leitung/choreographie

toula limnaios

film/kamera/schnitt

giacomo corvaia

komposition/musik

ralf r. ollertz, paul tinsley

tanz/kreation

daniel afonso, leonardo d’aquino, daeho lee, katja scholz, hironori sugata, karolina wyrwal, inhee yu

kostüme

antonia limnaios, toula limnaios

assistenz

ute pliestermann

public relation

silke wiethe

gastspiel kooperationen

sanya tsekov

licht und bühnentechnik

domenik engemann, jan römer